2016 – 2017 Honors

Marching Firebirds – “Bloom”

  • Taylor Band Premiere – September 17, 2016

Overall Results:
Best Auxiliary: Lakota West
Best Percussion: Lakota West
Best Music: Lakota West
Best Visual: Lakota West
Best General Effect: Lakota West
Grand Champion: Lakota West

  • Lancaster “Band of Gold” Competition  – September 17, 2016

Class AA Results:
1st Place Class AA:  Lakota West (Superior Rating)

Overall Results:
Outstanding Auxiliary: Lakota West
Outstanding Percussion: Lakota West
Outstanding Music: Lakota West
Outstanding General Effect: Lakota West
Grand Champion: Lakota West

  • Bands of America Regional Championship – October 1, 2016

Achieved placement in top ten bands after Prelims, and secured 6th place at finals. Highest achievement in history for Lakota West Bands.

  • Kettering Classic – October 8, 2016

Class AA Results:
1st Place Class AA:  Lakota West (Superior Rating)
Best Percussion:  Lakota West

Overall Results:
Outstanding General Effect:  Lakota West
Outstanding Music Performance:  Lakota West
Grand Champion:  Lakota West

  • OMEA State Marching Band Contest – October 29, 2016

        Superior I Rating

  • Marching Firebirds Award Winners

Dan Kenworthy Scholarship Award: Faith Ann Santucci
Chesapeake Popcorn Co. Clarinet Scholarship: Lauren Klenk 

Outstanding Senior Woodwind Marcher: Lauren Klenk
Outstanding Senior Brass Marcher: Emma Rednour
Outstanding Senior Percussion: Raymond Butler
Outstanding Senior Guard Member: Brooke Eckerle
Outstanding Veteran Woodwind: Rachel Pizzuco
Outstanding Veteran Brass: Matt Aaron 
Outstanding Veteran Percussion: Bryan Afadzi
Outstanding Veteran Guard Member: Lucy Jones
Outstanding Rookie Woodwind Marcher: Schafer Eckerle
Outstanding Rookie Brass Marcher: Anna Lavin
Outstanding Rookie Percussion: Taj Carter
Outstanding Rookie Guard Member: Kyle Fisher

Concert Bands

  • OMEA District 13 Large Group Event

Symphonic Winds (Class AA) – Superior Rating
Symphonic Band (Class A) – Superior Rating
Concert Band (Class B) – Superior Rating
Freshman Band (Class C) – Superior Rating

Senior Award Winners
John Philip Sousa – Faith Ann Santucci
Senior Concerto – Raymond Butler and Faith Ann Santucci
Louis Armstrong Award – Spencer Merk
Gregory Snyder Coda Scholarship – Spencer Merk and Faith Ann Santucci
Bill Weatherwax Scholarship – Haley Hayes

NAFME All-National Concert Band in Dallas/Fort Worth, November 2016

Faith Ann Santucci

OMEA All-State Instrumentalists
Lakota West Band Members
All-State Band

Matt Aaron
Tyler Gandee
Faith Ann Santucci
Kyle Cleavinger

All-State Orchestra

Alex Daiker
James Smith

All-State Jazz

Spencer Merk
Charlie Merk

Bowling Green University High School Honor Band and Director’s Clinic Participants
Samantha Bishop
Owen Carpenter
Kyle Cleavinger
Joshua Georgopoulos
Andrew Hinchberger
Becca LaManna
Nicholas Lorenz
Bailey McPhail
Faith Ann Santucci
Freddy Thiergartner
Nam Tran

Cincinnati Premier Youth Ensembles

  • Senior flute Faith Ann Santucci: CSYO Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Junior oboe Josh Aude: CSYO Concert Orchestra
  • Junior bassoon Kyle Cleavinger: CSYO Concert Orchestra
  • Junior bassoon Yulia Martinez: CSYO Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Senior bassoon Becca LaManna: CSYO Concert Orchestra
  • Sophomore trumpet Joe Keller: CSYO Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Junior horn Alex Daiker: CSYO Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Senior trombone James Smith: CSYO Philharmonic Orchestra