2012 – 2013 Honors

[youtube width=500 height=308]viD5yKGr21c[/youtube]

Concert Bands

  • OMEA State Large Group Event,

Symphonic Winds (Class AA) – I Straight Superior Ratings
White Symphonic Band (Class A) – I Superior
Red Symphonic Band (Class A) – I Superior

  • OMEA District 13 Large Group Event

Symphonic Winds (Class AA) – I Superior
Red Symphonic Band (Class A) – I Superior
White Symphonic Band (Class A) – I Superior
Freshman 1st Period Band (Class C) – I Superior
Freshman 2nd Period Band (Class C) – I Superior

  • Senior Award Winners

John Philip Sousa – Beth Rogers
Senior Concerto – Julie Green and Curtis Holtgrefe
Semper Fi –  Julie Green
Louis Armstrong Award – Curtis Holtgrefe
Bravo Award –
Bill Weatherwax Scholarship – Jonathan Horner
Character Award (junior) – Greg McCollum

OMEA All-State Ensembles
18 Lakota West Band Members

Concert Band

Paul Register – Clarinet
Garrett Scholtes – Clarinet
Jenna Eagle – Bass Clarinet
Salehi Rameen– Bass Clarinet
Luke Hamilton – Trumpet
Melanie Rampton – Trumpet
Scott Rathbun – Trombone
Ben Van Arsdale – Percussion
Hannah Donley – Flute alternate
Kevin Huynh – Tenor Saxophone alternate
Audrey Schweiterman – Horn alternate


Julie Green – Bassoon
Sarah Klimek – Trumpet
Daltin Loomis – Percussion

Jazz Band

Curtis Holtgrefe – Alto saxophone
Ethan Bennett – Tenor saxophone
Peyton Bennett – Trumpet
Matt Boubin – Trombone alternate


Marching Firebirds – “Empire”

Featuring music from Russian Sailors’ Dance by Gliere, Nimrod from “Enigma Variations” by Elgar, and Symphony No. 5 by Shostakovich.

  • OMEA State Marching Band Contest

Superior Rating !

  • Marching Firebirds Award Winners

Dan Kenworthy Scholarship Award:  Hannah Donley
Outstanding Senior Woodwind Marcher:
Outstanding Senior Brass Marcher:
Outstanding Senior Percussion:  Amy Greene
Outstanding Senior Guard Member:  Meghan Burch
Most Improved Woodwind:
Most Improved Brass:
Most Improved Percussion:  Nick Hartup
Most Improved Guard Member:  Katie Layman
Outstanding Rookie Woodwind Marcher:
Outstanding Rookie Brass Marcher:
Outstanding Rookie Percussion:  Sam Burgett
Outstanding Rookie Guard Member:  Samantha Shaw

  • 35th Annual “Band Expo” at Anderson High School – October 20, 2012

Class AA Results:

1st Place Class AA: Lakota West
2nd Place Class AA: Walnut Hills
3rd Place Class AA: Loveland
Best Auxiliary: Lakota West
Best Percussion: Lakota West

Overall Results:

Best Marching: Lakota West
Best Music: Lakota West
Best General Effect: Lakota West
Reserve Grand Champion: Walnut Hills
Grand Champion: Lakota West

5th consecutive SUPERIOR RATING!

  • Buckeye Invitational – October 13, 2012

The Lakota West Marching Band performed at The Ohio State University “Buckeye Invitational” on October 13, 2012 at 5:45 PM. This competition is a slightly different format and no Grand Champion is named but the Firebirds did very well earning their fourth consecutive SUPERIOR RATING this year. For a complete schedule and listing of all the schools that performed CLICK HERE.

  • Perkins High School North Coast Festival – October 6, 2012

3rd consecutive SUPERIOR RATING!

  • Hamilton High School “Band-O-Rama” – September 22, 2012

Class AA Results:

1st Place Class AA: Lakota West
2nd Place Class AA: Fairfield
3rd Place Class AA: Troy
4th Place Class AA: Loveland
5th Place Class AA: Elder
Best Auxiliary: Lakota West
Best Percussion: Fairfield

Overall Results:

Best Overall Visual: Lakota West
Best Overall Music: Lakota West
Best Overall General Effect: Lakota West
Grand Champion: Lakota West

2nd consecutive SUPERIOR RATING and 2nd consecutive year,
Band-O-Rama Grand Champion!

  • Troy High School “Trojan Invitational” – September 8, 2012

Class AA Results:

1st Place Class AA: Lakota West
2nd Place Class AA: Beavercreek
3rd Place Class AA: Fairfield
Best Auxiliary: Lakota West
Best Percussion: Lakota West

Overall Results:

Best Visual Effect: Beavercreek
Best Music: Lakota West
Best General Effect: Beavercreek
Grand Champion: Lakota West

SUPERIOR RATING and qualifier for Ohio Music Education Association (OMEA) State Contest!