2015 – 2016 Honors

2015 – 2016 School Year

Buckeye Invitational at The Ohio State University

[youtube width=500 height=308]http://https://youtu.be/4LJl-t0rdIs[/youtube]

Marching Firebirds – “En Fuego”

  • Tipp City Marching Band Invitational – September 19, 2015

Class AA Results:
1st Place Class AA:  Lakota West (Superior Rating)
Best Auxiliary:  Lakota West
Best Percussion:  Lakota West

Overall Results:
Best Music: Lakota West

  • Hamilton High School “Band-O-Rama” – September 26, 2015

Class AA Results:
1st Place Class AA:  Lakota West (Superior Rating)
Best Percussion:  Lakota West

Overall Results:
Best Percussion:  Lakota West
Best Visual Effect:  Lakota West

Grand Champion:  Lakota West (5th consecutive Grand Champion title at Band-O-Rama)


  • Buckeye Invitational at The Ohio State University – October 3, 2015

Class AA: Lakota West (Superior Rating)

(Lakota West received 3rd Highest score of all 40 bands in attendance)


  • Perkins High School Competition – October 17, 2015

Class AA Results:
1st Place Class AA:  Lakota West (Superior Rating)
Best Percussion:  Lakota West
Best Auxiliary: Lakota West
Best General Effect: Lakota West
Best Marching:  Lakota West

Overall Results:
Outstanding General Effect:  Lakota West
Outstanding Marching:  Lakota West
Outstanding Music Performance:  Lakota West

Grand Champion:  Lakota West


  • OMEA State Marching Band Contest – November 1, 2015

Superior I Rating

  • Marching Firebirds Award Winners

Dan Kenworthy Scholarship Award:  Mackenzie Ferguson
Chesapeake Popcorn Co. Clarinet Scholarship:  Michaela Hertz

Outstanding Senior Woodwind Marcher:  Eric Fogle
Outstanding Senior Brass Marcher:  Megan Kelley
Outstanding Senior Percussion:  Morgan Davis
Outstanding Senior Guard Member:  Yijing Wang
Outstanding Veteran Woodwind:  Sarah McNeer
Outstanding Veteran Brass:  Nick Moore
Outstanding Veteran Percussion:  Kasi Woods
Outstanding Veteran Guard Member:  Amy Ballman
Outstanding Rookie Woodwind Marcher:  Nijah Dent
Outstanding Rookie Brass Marcher:  Charlie Merk
Outstanding Rookie Percussion:  Betty Richardson
Outstanding Rookie Guard Member:  Maria Moorman


Concert Bands

  • OMEA District 13 Large Group Event

Symphonic Winds (Class AA) – I (Superior Rating)
Red Symphonic Band (Class A) – II (Excellent Rating)
White Symphonic Band (Class A) – II (Excellent Rating)
Freshman 1st Period Band (Class C) – I (Superior Rating)
Freshman 2nd Period Band (Class C) – I (Superior Rating)

  • Senior Award Winners

John Philip Sousa – John Trygier

Senior Concerto – Alec Drach and John Trygier

Louis Armstrong Award – Caleb Fogle

Gregory Snyder Coda Scholarship – Quentin Craycraft

Bill Weatherwax Scholarship – Nick Harvey


OMEA All-State Instrumentalists
Lakota West Band Members
All-State Band

Faith Ann Santucci

Sammy Tanner

Evelyn Profitt

John Trygier

Caleb Fogle


All-State Orchestra

James Smith

Alec Drach

All-State Jazz

Katie Carson

Spencer Merk